The famous boat race between the two great Universities in England first took place on June 10th 1829. Charles Merivale from Cambridge University, and Charles Wordsworth from Oxford University were the men who devised the race on a bright March day that same year. The race itself took place after a false start, with Oxford emerging as winner. It has been the tradition every year since for the loser to challenge the victor to a rematch. It has been an annual event however, only since 1856, with no races taking place during both world wars. Far from being a trifling grudge match between two universities, the boat race is televised nationally every year. It takes place over a 4 mile 374 yard section of the River Thames, and attracts keen interest all over the country. Before the main race, the reserve teams of both universities battle it out as a warm-up race, with Oxford reserves known as Isis and their Cambridge Counterparts known as Goldie. When the main teams emerge, Cambridge don light blue outfits, with the Oxford team adorned in dark blue. At present, Cambridge holds the upper hand with 79 wins to Oxford’s 75 triumphs.