There are 31 Colleges that make up Cambridge University. Three are for women (New Hall, Newnham and Lucy Cavendish) and two admit only graduates (Clare Hall and Darwin). The remainder house and teach all students enrolled in courses of study or research at the University.

The role of the Colleges in University life All of the Colleges at Cambridge University operate as independent institutions with their own property and income. The Colleges appoint their own staff and are responsible for selecting students, in accordance with University regulations. The teaching of students is shared between the Colleges and University departments. Degrees are awarded by the University. Within each College, staff and students of all disciplines are brought together. This cross-fertilisation has encouraged the free exchange of ideas which has led to the creation of a number of new companies. Trinity and St Johns have also established science parks, providing facilities for start-ups, and making a significant contribution to the identification of Cambridge as a centre of innovation and technology. Visiting Cambridge University It is possible to walk through most of the Cambridge Colleges and University grounds at most times of year. Most Colleges are closed during the exam period in May and June. Some Colleges charge a small entrance fee. The Universitys museums and collections are open to the public all year round except for the usual public holidays. If you fancy a bite to eat on your wander round the campus’ the University Centre has a bar, restaurant and cafe open to visitors. Cambridge University